Sierra Leone Postal Code

Sierra Leone officially known as the Republic of Sierra Leone is a country located on the southwest coast of West Africa. It is bordered by Guinea on the north and northeast, Liberia on the southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean on the west. Freetown is the capital and the largest city of Sierra Leone. The other major cities and towns in Sierra Leone are Wangechi, Kalewa, Magburaka, Kabala, Moyamba, Kailahun, Bonthe, Kambia, Kenema, Bo, Koidu, Makeni, Waterloo, Port Loko, etc.

The official language of the country in Sierra Leone is English. The other spoken languages in Sierra Leone are Krio and Bengali, etc. Sierra Leone is well known for its unique way of celebrating its festivals like New Year's Day, the birthday of the Prophet Muhammad, Armed Forces Day, International Women's Day, Easter, Independence Day, Eid al-Fitr, Eid al-Adha, Christmas Day, and Boxing Day, African Child, World AIDS Day and Mother's and Father's Day, etc. Many foreigners or travelers also take part in the celebration and enjoy it.

The official name of the postal service in Sierra Leone is SALPOST (Sierra Leone Postal Services Limited). At first, there was so much controversy over the places which were registered under the postal code office, but then slowly every region in Sierra Leone got its postal codes. The pin code is segregated in such a way that each of the postal codes is.

Land Area

Sierra Leone has a total land area of 71,740 km2, which comes to around a total of 27,700 mi2. The territory of Sierra Leone is divided into five regions (four provinces and one area). It was further subdivided into 16 districts (14 districts and two areas) and again it was split into 186 chiefdoms. The names of the five regions are the Northern Province, North West Province, Southern Province, Eastern Province, and Western Area. It was further subdivided into cities, municipalities, towns, and villages.

Water Area

Sierra Leone has major sources of water including groundwater, lakes, rainwater, rivers, snow, soil moisture springs, streams, water, waterfall, wetlands, etc. Sierra Leone has more than three lakes and a few water bodies. Some water bodies have developed as tourist spots. Many water bodies are small in area and contain a minimum volume of water. Most of these water bodies are fresh water and very few are salt lakes.


Sierra Leone contains more than 566 named mountains. The highest peak and the most prominent mountain is Loma Mansa which is about 1,945 meters (6,381 feet). The other major mountains in Sierra Leone are Sankanbiaiwa, Furakoli, Kundukonko, Serelen, Neremafondi, Durukonko, Manga, Wotuma, Sengisengi, Kondula, Tankabu, Gbenga, etc.

Postal Stamps

postal stampspostal stampspostal stampspostal stamps

List of postal and courier services in Sierra Leone :

  • Aramex
  • DHL Service Point
  • KAYBEE Corporation
  • Kamino Red Coat

Sierra Leone PostalCode
Address format Each administrative division maintains its postal code for mail delivery purposes. Having the correct code is essential to your mail delivery.
The official name of the Sierra Leone postal service is SALPOST (Sierra Leone Postal Services Limited).

Frequently asked questions (FAQ) s

  • How many digits are found in the Sierra Leone postal code?
    There were no postal codes used in Sierra Leone.
  • What is the capital city of Sierra Leone?
    Freetown is the capital city of Sierra Leone.
  • Name the official postal service in Sierra Leone.
    The official postal service in Sierra Leone is SALPOST (Sierra Leone Postal Services Limited).
  • How many postal codes are in Sierra Leone?
    Sierra Leone has no postal codes.
  • Give the alpha three-letter country code of Sierra Leone.
    The alpha three-letter country code of Sierra Leone is SLE.