Click here : To Download PostalCodes / ZipCodes Database with Geo-coordinates, Offer Price Now for Just $9.99 Only !
Member Login

Tanzania postal Code

Tanzania is officially known as the United Republic of Tanzania which is located in East Africa. It is bordered by Uganda on the north, Kenya on the northwest, the Comoro Islands and the Indian Ocean on the east, Mozambique and Malawi on the south, Zambia on the southwest, Rwanda, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo on the west.

The other major urban areas include Dar es Salaam, Mwanza, Arusha, Dodoma, Mbeya, Morogoro, Tanga, Kahama, Tabora, Zanzibar City, Kigoma, Sumbawanga, Kasulu, Songea, Moshi, Musoma, Shinyanga, Iringa, Singida, Niombe, Bukoba, Kibaha, Mtwara, Mpanda, Tunduma, Makambako, Babati, Handeni, Lindi, Korogwe, Mafinga, Nansio, etc. Tanzania also shares maritime boundaries with Uganda, Kenya, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. The official language of the country is Swahili and the other spoken languages are English and Lingua Francas. Tanzania is well known for its unique way of celebrating its festivals like Sauti Za Busara, Tanzania, Sunwaves, Beneath the Baobabs Festival 2023, Sauti Za Busara, Mpaako Festival, Zanzibar Tanzania, Medexpo Tanzania, Oil, and Gas Tanzania, Union Day Tanzania, Afriwood Tanzania, EAOGS 2022, Plastprintpack Kenya, Agritec Africa, PPPEXPO Kenya, etc. Many foreigners or travelers also take part in the celebration and enjoy it.

Tanzania's postal code was introduced in 1994. Tanzania's territory is divided into 31 regions or provinces or states (26 regions on the mainland and five regions on Zanzibar). It was subdivided into 169 districts and further split into urban units, city council, municipal, and town council. At first, there was so much controversy over the places which were registered under the postal code office, but then slowly every region in Tanzania got its postal codes. The postal code is segregated in such a way that each of the postal codes.

Land Area

Tanzania has been ranked as the 30th largest nation in the world and it has a total land area of 9,47,303 km2, which comes to around a total of 3,65,756 mi2. Entire Tanzania was divided into six zones which are subdivided into 26 regions. The names of the zones are Coastal Zone, Northern Highland Zone, Lake Zone, Central Zone, Southern Highland Zone, and Southern Zone. The names of the regions are Tanga, Morogoro, Coast, Dar es Salaam, and Zanzibar. Arusha and Kilimanjaro. Tabora, Kigoma, Shinyanga, Kagera, Mwanza, and Mara. Dodoma and Singida. Iringa, Mbeya, and Rukwa. Lindi, Mtwara, and Ruvuma.

Water Area

Tanzania has a total water area of 6.4%. The major sources of water include groundwater, lakes, rainwater, rivers, snow, soil moisture springs, streams, water, waterfall, wetlands, etc. Tanzania has more than four lakes namely Tanganyika, Victoria, Malawi, and Rukwa. Their common surface is about 6% area. Nearly 48% of the lakes have international tourism importance. Many other lakes are small in area and contain a minimum volume of water. Most of these lakes are freshwater and very few are salt lakes.


The number of named mountains is 2,395 in Tanzania. The highest peak is Mount Kilimanjaro which is about 5,895 meters (19,340 Feet) in northeastern Tanzania and is also considered Africa’s highest mountain. The most prominent and major mountains are Kibo, Mount Kenya, Mawenzi, Ngaliema, Duwoni, Kiyanja, Mount Emin, Mount Gessi, Mount Luigi di Savoia, Mount Meru, Ras Dashen, Karisimbi, Ancua, Kidis Yared, Mikeno, Bwahit, Portal Peaks, Tullu Demtu, Mount Elgon, Amba Farit, Abune Yosef, Loll, Bada, Kaka, Jbel, Muhavura, Hey, Guna, Choga, Chilalo, Inatye, Ighil Mgoun, Mount Cameroon, Weshema, Shira, Oldoinyo, etc.

Postal Stamps

postal stampspostal stampspostal stampspostal stamps

List of postal and courier services in Tanzania:

  • Dcs Domestic Courier Service
  • Kurier Bps - Business Pack Service
  • World Courier
  • Poland Express
  • Boxfox - Szybka Paczka Za Granicę
  • Global Express
  • Pakersi
  • TNT Express
  • Dhl Express Service Point
  • World Courier (Poland)
  • FedExthe Express Poland

Tanzania Postal Code Address Format
Postcode type and position 5 digits to the left of the locality

Mr Juma Khamis
22 Samora Avenue
Coding method XXX -- (First three digit) ---> indicate the locality.
XX -- (Last two digit) ---> indicate the delivery area or post office.
Address format Each administrative division maintains its postal code for mail delivery purposes. Having the correct code is essential to your mail delivery. The official of the Tanzania postal service is named Tanzania Posts Corporation (TPC) which was introduced in the year 1994. There are six postal zones in Tanzania. The total number of post offices in Poland is more than 400 and 2788 postal codes. Tanzania uses 5 digit postal code system in which the first three digits and the last two digits have different indications which are shown below;
Examples Mr Juma Khamis(addresse)
22 Samora Avenue(area /street /village)
11101 KIVUKONI(postal code)
TANZANIA (country)

Frequently asked questions (FAQ) s

  • What is the official postal name of India?
    The official postal name of Tanzania is Tanzania Posts Corporation.
  • How many zip codes does Tanzania have?
    There are more than 400 postal codes in Tanzania.
  • What is the postal code for the capital of Tanzania?
    Dodoma is the capital city of Tanzania and it has 189 postal codes starting from 41101 to 41826.
  • Where can I check the zip code details for Tanzania?
    You can check the details of the postal code for Tanzania on our website
  • Give the Alpha two-letter country code of Tanzania?
    The country code of Tanzania is TZ.